Other Server concept - looking for advice/team

smoochy boys on tour

holo

Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Aug 27, 2014
Hi, I've been playing Mir since EU beta, and private servers since RZ first opened (@Robert on there). I'm a systems engineer as my day job, creating systems for the company I work for, based mainly in MSSQL (not sure if mir can use that?). That is my brief bio. I am interested in creating a new server based on my extensive knowledge of mmos, and personal opinion on where/how many servers fail. As a systems engineer, I'm all about creating stable systems which will last long time/indefinitely, and be self sufficient. Something Mir on a whole lacks, and why most mmos incorporate regular gear resets. I've spent well over a year thinking about how this server would work, and I think the following would work best.

Firstly, the server would be based around reducing the barrier of entry to new players. A healthy new user count is the life blood of any server, getting new players to be relevant will be a priority. With this in mind, the first unique characteristic of the server would be a 100% increase in EXP per level under the max level. This might seem like a lot, but in the grand scheme of things it entirely depends on the exp rate, which will be incredibly low;

Levelling - very low rate up to 26. Around 2 weeks. That's when the game really "starts". Most classes have their basic skills, so PvP would be interesting and intense. I'd be open to changing skill levels around this level to make it balanced between classes. At this point exp will drop off massively, ~1 month per level (consistently, the curve will be mostly removed/balanced with increased kill speeds).

The idea will therefore be every month there is a soft gear reset. At which point everyone not at the bleeding edge is boosted to catch up. This will promote new players and casuals (this will be the main system to keep those players interested and relevant to content).